Skip to main content

Jerusalem Day

1. Jerusalem Day

Jerusalem Day

Following the IDF's victory in the Six Day War, on June 27, 1967, the Government presented the Knesset with three bills which, after being passed into law, established the effective unification of Jerusalem and sanctioned the application of Israeli law in the entire area of the unified city. The municipal boundaries of the city were altered and its area was increased threefold: from 38,100 dunams to 110,000 dunams. Citizens of east Jerusalem were granted permanent resident status, and they were permitted to vote in municipal elections, but not in the Knesset elections.

One of the laws which were passed deals with the preservation of the holy sites in Jerusalem.

On May 12, 1968 the government voted to commemorate the 28th of Iyar - the Hebrew date on which the divided city of Jerusalem was united - as "Jerusalem Day," symbolizing "the continued historical connection of the Jewish People to Jerusalem."

Basic Law: Jerusalem, Capital of Israel was enacted in 1980, 13 years after the city's unification. The law states that "Jerusalem, complete and united, is the capital of Israel," and the "Seat of the President, the Knesset, the Government and the Supreme Court.

The law further states that "The Holy Places shall be protected from desecration and any other violation and from anything likely to violate the freedom of access of the members of the different religions to the places sacred to them or their feelings towards those places," and that "The Government shall provide for the development and prosperity of Jerusalem…"

On March 23, 1998, the Knesset passed the Jerusalem Day Law, which states that "The Knesset hereby declares that the 28th day of the month Iyar is Jerusalem Day and will be celebrated yearly as a national holiday and will be called 'Jerusalem Day'."

© Copyright 20017, The State of Israel. All Rights Reserved.
We welcome your Suggestions and Comments. Email: